The Programme Evaluation and Monitoring (PREM)

About PREM

The Policy, Regulation, Evaluation and Monitoring (PREM) Programme is one of the four programmes under the Programme Development and Implementation (PDI) Department of the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC). The Programmes ultimate goal is to contribute to the attainment and optimisation of the Legal, Policy and Institution frameworks for Science, Technology and Innovation development in the Country through;

  1. Regulate research in science and technology in Zambia
  2. Register institutes and centres
  3. Determining broad directions, stimulate coordination and initiate special projects in science and technology
  4. Generating evidence based  advice to Government on science and technology policies and activities in Zambia
  5. Recommend to the Government the establishment of any new research institutes and centres
  6. Identify and determine national research and development priorities in science and technology


Why Register

  1. Registration of Research and Development activities is a legal requirement as prescribed by the Science and Technology Act No. 26 1997. Any contravention in respect of the rules and regulations set out in the Science and Technology Act No. 26 of 1997 are liable to a fine not exceeding twenty thousand penalty units or a term of imprisonment not exceeding five years or both.
  2. Registration with the NSTC further promotes collaboration and sharing of information between and/or among institutions.
  3. Institutions stand to benefit from the competitive research grants offered by the NSTC


All institutions or centres either established or not established under the S&T Act No. 26 of 1997 but are involved in the following research activities are required by law to register with the Council;

  1. Health Research
  2. Industrial Research
  3. Agricultural Research
  4. Energy Research
  5. Environmental Research
  6. Food and Beverages Production Research
  7. Mines and Minerals Development Research
  8. Veterinary Research
  9. Water Development Research
  10. Engineering Research
  11. Forestry Research
  12. Wildlife Research
  13. Fisheries Research
  14. Archaeological Research
  15. Transport and Communication Research
  16. Construction and Building Material Research
  17. Biotechnology Research
  18. New and Emerging Technologies Research
  19. Chemical Research
  20. Information Technology Research and
  21. Any other type of research as the Council may determine.